Cooking from Forks Over Knives Cookbook

I’m following along with the Veg CookBook Club this month. I wish I was “cooking” along, but that doesn’t seem entirely accurate; I have only managed one recipe so far in November! The book is Forks Over Knives: The Cookbook, by Del Sroufe. The documentary by the same name was released in 2011 and is a very informative movie on health reasons to go vegan. I highly recommend it and couldn’t possibly do it justice by trying to summarize. Two weeks ago, I managed to make the Barley and Sweet Potato Pilaf the night before I was working a half day and leaving for a conference. This is the preface to explain the hurried pictures.

I know it’s goofy for a vegetarian, but I’m not a huge onion fan. Because they typically are needed for flavor, I decided to cut the amount of onion in half. I just don’t like them in large amounts, in every fork or spoonful. The Forks Over Knives folks believe in cooking without oils and the recipes often call for cooking onions and garlic (or whatever the starter vegetables may be) in water. I was anxious to see how this would work. It worked fine in my enameled cast iron pan. You add a tablespoon or two of water when needed…no sticking problem encountered. I also liked the fact that this recipe is a single-pan dish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In addition, I used dried tarragon due to availability issues at my grocery. The pilaf seemed like it might be rather bland until I added the freshly squeezed lemon juice and lemon zest at the end. I loved the flavor, with freshly ground pepper added too. This would especially taste great as a spring dish.

Not a bad start to this book, even with the onions! I think I will keep going with this book for the next month. If you are curious, check out the Veg CookBook Club. If you read the blog comments, you will get a feel for whether this might be a cookbook for you. It could very well be at your library too! Additionally, if you explore the Forks Over Knives website, I saw some great recipes posted there.

I just had to share that the Gardein Holiday Roast was worth the wait until Saturday. The omnivore adults surprised me by (every one of them) tasting it and commenting that they thought it was good. They were quite intrigued by the resemblance to the “T” word and the ingredients list. Very tasty, especially with extra cranberry sauce added along.

Have a splendid week!

5 thoughts on “Cooking from Forks Over Knives Cookbook

  1. Pingback: Coconut Butternut Squash Soup + Mixed Greens with Green Apples, Beets and Pistachios | VegCookBook Club

  2. Pingback: End of the Year Cookbook Roundup | Seize the Veggies

  3. Pingback: Gardein Holiday Roast | Seize the Veggies

Leave a Reply

