Teeny Tiny Health Food

Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia…………Remember the Chia pets advertised on TV? With the little song that was somehow both annoying and addictive? Have you heard about chia seeds as a super easy health food? You really can eat them…and I have not sprouted bright green grass anywhere to this date!

Here’s the low down. They contain soluble fiber, protein, calcium, antioxidants and the very important omega fatty acids. They’re a little easier to manage than flax. You don’t have to refrigerate or grind them. I purchased them in the bulk section at Whole Foods. The amount in the picture below plus about 4 Tablespoons was priced at 3.69. I think it was about 1/2 a pound. After about a month of using them almost every day, I am comfortable with using 1 tsp. a day. From my reading, too much (varies by person I am sure) can have unpleasant intestinal effects.

One place I read about them was Dr. Oz’s website. I like Dr. Oz…have only seen him a few times but he seems like he has good insights being a heart surgeon. He definitely promotes eating healthy and not consuming only the “typical” American diet. It looks like he may even talk about chia seeds this Thursday on his show (April 26). I caught part of the show Monday and they are advertising Thurday’s episode about fat burning…they showed an image that seemed to be different bowls of seeds…so I am guessing chia will be featured…Never fear, I have set the DVR and can report back on what is said…

In addition to the digestive, nutritional, and energy claims, people claim chia seeds can help you lose weight, by expanding in liquid, and thus making you feel full. They absorb up to 12 times their weight in liquid and form a “gel”. I am naturally skeptical when people seem to claim a food or supplement can do mulitple amazing things. But there seems to be something about this chia thing…

I like to sprinkle a teaspoon of Ch-Ch-Ch-Chia on my oatmeal or cold cereal in the morning. I make sure that I drink an extra 8 ounces or so of water at breakfast to give the chia enough liquid to use to “gel out”. After about a month of throwing these on my cereal, I have not noticed major changes, except maybe some improved “regularity”, if you know what I mean 🙂 Other ways to eat them are to put them in your liquid (maybe a glass or juice) and wait 10-15 minutes and drink the “gel”. I made a jar of the gel to add to foods but something about the look and texture in that form was not for me. I prefer dry. Here they are sprinkled dry on my oatmeal. Hard to see with the gigantic blackberries!

Enjoy and let me know what you think if you decide try them or already consume them.

(Disclaimer: I am not a nutrition professional; all things presented here are just my opinion!)

2 thoughts on “Teeny Tiny Health Food

  1. I love chia seeds! I sprinkle about 1 tbsp of them over my oatmeal in the morning, top them on fruit salads with a little cinnamon and ground flax and they are even added to my energy gel that I eat out on my runs. I love the added crunch they add and I like to think they are doing my body good! One problem with them…they can get stuck in my teeth…not very attractive! lol

Leave a Reply

