Pressing issues–my new “press”

Yay! My tofu press arrived yesterday. I was hoping to try it out prior to leaving for a week’s trip to cooler temperatures! (Colorado). Hooray for highs in the 70’s!!

Note: If you want more information on why to press tofu, look in the archives of my blog for a part 1 and part 2 post about tofu.

The packaging by Amazon of this press cracked me up. I opened the plain cardboard box and literally the press was all that was in there! Not one sheet of instructions, tips, or anything else. I shook the box and one little laminated card about 2 inches square came out from the bottom folds of the box. It just shows different measurements…maybe some recipes call for tofu pressed to a specific thickness? Who knows…But the press does seem well made. Everything seems secure and unable to come loose and be lost.

So I pulled out a tub of organic sprouted tofu and drained the water it was packaged in. After a bit of fumbling around and one dropped block of tofu onto the counter (the two sides do not actually come fully apart, making it a coordination challenge to slide it in there, at least for me), I got it pressing! After 45 minutes, I was not sure whether it was done–again no instructions–I decided to add more pressure by turning the black dials. I pressed 15 minutes more and produced a bit more moisture. Truthfully, I think most of the moisture probably came out in the first 15 minutes. All in all, I pressed a little over 1/3 cup of moisture out. It was definitely a more pressed block than tofu I have done by the heavy book/can method. I will have to learn the optimal “force” and time of pressing.

Here are the before and after:

I followed a recipe from this book, for Teriyaki Tofu. I can’t reprint without permission, so I am sorry about that. If I learn to make it look nearly as good as the cookbook, I will see if I can get permission! You can click on the link to check it out and read reviews. I still need to perfect my execution of the recipe (my sauce did not harden up to form a crispy outside) like hers does in the picture. I think it has something to do with my broiling skills. But it was a tasty, sweet, gingery sauce with rather firm tofu. Delicious! I served the tofu with broccoli and extra sauce poured on.

Here is my finished product! Yummy, with a firmer texture than any tofu I have made before. After one pressing, I feel like I can tentatively recommend this product, although I cannot speak for its longevity. It will be easy to store and was easy to wash in a tub of soapy water. When pressing, the water drained into a pan and did not waste any trees/paper towels. All good!

So, what are you cooking during this hot weather??

I’ll be back in a week and a half, cooled off! Happy Fourth to the good ol’ USA!

One thought on “Pressing issues–my new “press”

  1. Sorry to hear that you did not get the instructions, I can email them to you! I personally pack each EZ TOFU PRESS and its possible that I missed yours. Please contact me at benzel@aol.com. In answering your concern about the product holding up, I have been using the press for a year and they do hold up…even when washing in the upper rack of the dishwasher. We also have an instructional video that may also help you understand the process.

Leave a Reply

