A New To-Do List

Still recovering from surgery here. Cultivating patience I did not know I needed to learn! I’m just starting to be able to stand long enough to cook a little. Hence, I’ve taken a week off from the blog–I didn’t mean to, but it just happened. So, wouldn’t you know, I’ve been collecting a bit of a to-do list. (And sorry about the formatting of this post–not sure how to change what keeps happening-hopefully I can figure it out by next week)

1. Cook an acorn squash–I picked this up at Whole Foods. I was shocked when it rang up as nearly $5.00! Hope it’s good…

 

 

 

 

2. Make something with this can of pumpkin. I am debating between muffins and bread. I’d like to try (with whatever I choose) this gluten-free flour from Namaste Foods. It’s allergy-safe for us, which is difficult to find when dabbling in “alternative” grains.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3. Make this quinoa, which is allergy-safe for my son unlike the type sold at Costco. The challenge is to get him to try it!! I ordered it directly from the company to get the bulk size–four pounds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Experiment with this coconut oil. An employee at a Whole Foods-like store in a nearby city told me that coconut oil is better than canola oil. I think she said canola oil wasn’t good for you because it is so refined, which requires chemicals. I did a bit of reading about it, and those who think canola oil is bad for health think it is due to 1. Refinement with harsh chemicals that can leach into it. 2. Most of it is made with genetically modified seeds (buying organic would prevent this).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here are some “sample” views on canola oil–One doesn’t know what to do after reading all this. A somewhat balanced perspective on canola oil here. A more pointed, different view here. I didn’t mean to open a can of worms, but it is something to think about. I can’t say that these are reliable, scientifically accurate sites, but they do illustrate the main arguments I have found. And here is an article on Benefits of Coconut Oil from the Balanced Bites blog.

 

 

Oh and one more thing, when I handed my 12-year old his packed lunch (of peanut butter and jelly) today, he said “why is it always chicken at school?” (he had checked the menu and did not want the lunch of the day) and then “and why chicken on Meatless Monday?” I LOVE it!! Maybe a possible vegetarian in the making? In all truthfulness, I accept their choices, whatever they may be. I will just keep educating!

So, have you used any of the products or foods I have on my list? How did it go?

2 thoughts on “A New To-Do List

  1. Ironically, our Costco here in Canada, sells that specfic quinoa…it is the one I use and love it! I have a great muffin recipe for your pumpkin…Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Oatmeal muffins…I love them! I also have a recipe for Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Orange Drizzle…both could easily be adapted with the Namaste Perfect Flour Blend. I have used that gluten free flour with success with some of my dairy, egg, soy and peanut/tree nut free recipes. An idea for your acorn squash…cut it in half, bake in the oven and fill with a mixture of quinoa, chickpeas and veggies! Yummy!

    • Lucky you! I love Costco, but I wish they would switch to TruRoots quinoa. Thanks for the suggestions-I can’t believe I am mastering cooking all these squash varieties…they are so easy and tasty.

Leave a Reply

