End of the Year Cookbook Roundup

I like cookbooks a lot. I like books a whole lot. I guess it’s a logical thing. I’ve seen  a few top 10 cookbooks of the year lists. I’m going to list a few cookbooks that I either bought or borrowed from the library this year that I liked and really used (not just eye candy). These are in a general order of most favored at the top…and some are older, I warn you. I just discovered the world of vegan cookbooks this year. Until then I was using my old cookbooks from my 20’s when I went through my first vegetarian period.

Chloe's Kitchen: 125 Easy, Delicious Recipes for Making the Food You Love the Vegan Way

1. Chloe’s Kitchen by Chloe Coscarelli-Interesting yet mostly non-time consuming recipes, that taste delicious. I have fixed the Avocado Toast at least three times. Amazing and so simple. Every time I look through it, I find something I want to make.

2. Veganomicon by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero…very popular, but here’s why I love it…great information in the beginning 44 pages of the book. It helped me learn how to cook many a vegetable and grain. I spent an embarrassing number of evenings last winter reading this part and learned tons that I have been able to apply to my everyday cooking, shopping, and eating. I was so happy when I looked back in my records and found that I ordered this in January, so it could be in my list. I know it’s full of great recipes too, but so far I have only used basic ones such as several in the quite thorough section on cooking tofu.

3. Quick-Fix Vegan by Robin Robertson-I used this during the summer when I knew I was getting an unfamiliar (to me) vegetable in my delivery. Quick and simple recipes that seemed to highlight the vegetable and not the sauce, if that makes sense.

4. Everyday Happy Herbivore by Lindsay Nixon–I’ve only had it a week from the library, but it’s already a favorite. Her recipes include (mostly) ingredients I already have at home. I will be getting my own copy soon. Heck, it may be at the top of the list soon. Last night I made her Sweet Potato Dal, another recipe with red lentils in it…It had a really rich flavor, and did not include any added oils. (She does not add any oils, in the Forks Over Knives manner-see my last few posts). Later this week I plan to make Sweet and Sour Tempeh, and without planning I already have all the ingredients. Love that.

5. Blissful Bites by Christy Morgan-I find these recipes a little more time-consuming, but I love the book for its information on tools, techniques, etc. (more than the typical cookbook and really helpful stuff). I really like the Un-Tuna Salad I had read so much about. I even bought kelp granules for this one! She uses macrobiotic techniques, which I am just beginning to learn about. I’m planning to make her Sea Veggie Sushi rolls next.

These are all still available through online sources and probably in some larger bookstores.

I am trying to find a good vegan green bean casserole recipe right now. Test number one is tonight. I’ll try to share soon.

Happy Cooking, and please share your fave cookbooks of the year, whatever type they are!

8 thoughts on “End of the Year Cookbook Roundup

  1. Pingback: Vegan Eats World | Whole Food Diets

    • Awesome! I just made the maple roasted Brussels sprouts tonight-excellent, loved ’em. And I make the avocado toast at least once a week-you have to try it if you like avocado. Enjoy-I’ve heard of nothing but success when her recipes are used!

  2. Great list! I have all of these except for Chloe’s Kitchen which I’ve borrowed from the library before. EHH and Veganomicon are two favorites of mine. I haven’t cooked much from Quick Fix Vegan or Blissful Bites yet but I am very much looking forward to cracking these ones open soon!

    • Everyday Happy Herbivore is my new favorite right now. I imagine I will have to get her new one also. I read your review and interview-that must have been fun to cook from Happy Herbivore Abroad so intensely and interview Lindsay. I entered your giveaway too for her book!!!

  3. Great list, Julie!

    I’m going to create a testimonial, or “love notes” page for vegcookbookclub.com to encourage more folks to join. If you’d be willing to contribute a line, or two about why you enjoy being a part of the VegCookbook Club and/or how it has positively impacted your life, I would really appreciate it. I’ll include a link back to Seize the Veggies from your quote. You can email your quote to britt AT brittbravo DOT com.

Leave a Reply

