Vegan Green Bean Casserole

green bean casserole

Another holiday approaches with many family and group meals. I am craving green bean casserole–the classic. I ponder…can it be made vegan? I mean, can it be made vegan and be acceptable to those used to the classic recipe?

I scoured the net for several days, looking for a recipe that sounded good and did not involve growing my own beans. Meaning, not too complex…just a foolproof recipe I can pull out every year during holidays and serve to anyone. I thought I had a winner when I decided, unfortunately after buying several ingredients, that I was headed for disaster. I was perplexed by the eternal questions of the recipe reader…is the sage ground or leaf? What is the range of acceptable baking pan sizes…9 by 13? 8 by 8? I started over and made this recipe from the Earth Balance spread website with a few modifications (see below for my modified version).

Results? I was thrilled. My new dish I can bring to holiday meals. I suppose you really can’t go wrong with 4 oz of fried onion! Yum. I haven’t tried it out with a crowd yet, but I think it will go over well.

Green Bean Casserole, modified from recipe posted on Earth Balance website

Serves 6-8 depending on serving size (tricky area here, don’t you think?)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread

1/4 cup flour

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth

1 Tbsp soy sauce

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

2 Tbsp vegetable oil (I question if this is needed, but I wasn’t risking disaster…but next time I will try 1 Tbsp)

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

3-4 small button mushrooms, sliced as thinly as you can. You may want to use more if you like a stronger mushroom flavor; this was fairly mild.

2 14-oz cans green beans, well-drained or equivalent in frozen or fresh beans (I used frozen 365 Brand cut green beans, steamed first)

1 4-oz can of French-fried onions

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a small saucepan, melt the Earth Balance spread on medium to medium low and add the flour, stirring well. Add the vegetable broth, soy sauce, garlic power, and onion powder, stirring frequently until this thickens. Whisk in the nutritional yeast, vegetable oil, mushrooms, and about 1 oz of fried onions.

3. Combine the sauce and beans in a 9X13 or similarly sized casserole dish. Bake 10 minutes.

4. Remove the casserole, sprinkle the rest of the fried onions on top of the casserole and bake for another 10 minutes.

Enjoy!

Happy Holidays to all. May the new year bring more peace. Everywhere.

 

 

Leave a Reply

