Cooking from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

Isa's pancakes

I started with a simple recipe from this month’s cookbook Vegan Brunch as I cook along with the VegCookbook Club. I can already tell I want to own this one (and guess who got an Amazon gift card for her birthday?). I did try to buy this locally to support our last brick and mortar book chain, but none in the city had it.

The pumpkin pancakes quickly caught my eye in Vegan Brunch. But I decided to play it safe first with the “Perfect Pancakes”.

They were delish and were also nice as a snack later. This was my first try at pancakes in a cast iron skillet. I would love feedback on what I encountered: I sprayed lightly with cooking spray (I was following her instructions for using cast iron which are given with the pumpkin pancake instructions) and the first side browned well. The second side, which hit the less oiled pan surface, was a teeny bit too crispy and didn’t look as nice. Do I spray again as I flip the pancakes, possibly spraying the other pancakes?  I’m asking in case I serve these to company. I usually cook pancakes for visitors, so I would love to have a great homemade version to whip out. This will meet the need.

In that spirit, I took a picture of the aftermath, i.e. how much cleaning and washing by hand were left when it was said and done. This was pretty light for me. Not pictured were: skillet, spatula, whisk, and bowl, which are hard to avoid whether you used a mix or not. I’d say, this certainly is a good recipe from the clean-up perspective.

pancake cleanup

I told my son he was the luckiest kid in the world-pancakes ready at 3:45 when he walked in. As for me, I’m already dreaming about those pumpkin pancakes.

I’d also like to try some savory recipes and master one sure recipe for guests. I’m thinking of trying Mushroom, Leek, and White Bean Pie or Basic Scrambled Tempeh, which has greens, onion, red pepper, garlic…

Have a good one!

4 thoughts on “Cooking from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz

  1. “Vegan Brunch” is one of my favorites. I make the Perfect Pancake recipe quite often (and the Pumpkin Pancakes are awesome, too!). If the pancakes aren’t sticking on the second side, I don’t know if I’d spray again. It might make it crispier. Maybe turn the heat down a bit?

    I’ve been wanting to try that Mushroom, Leek, and White Bean Pie as well. All of the recipes just look so good.

    • Amanda, I think your suggestion about turning down the heat makes sense–I thought it seemed a little hot, but having no experience with cast iron, I wasn’t sure. Who knew so many people used this pancake recipe? Apparently several people from the VegCookbook Club have been using it for years too. I agree, this cookbook is a feast for the eyes 🙂 I’ll blog on the pie if I can get it made. The tempeh recipe is so pretty in the book…I’m a sucker for a good picture.

  2. My boys love it when I make them my Dairy, Egg, Soy and Peanut/Tree Nut Free Pancakes…I just adapted a Better Homes and Garden recipe…not sure how that matches up? I cook the pancakes on Cuisinart’s Griddler…I do have a cast iron pan…I should give it a try. 🙂

    Just wanted to let you know that today I posted all 15 ‘Very Inspiring Bloggers’! Come on over and view them and be prepared to be inspired! 🙂

    Thank you again for the award…it inspired me to check out some allergy related blogs I have been meaning to do in a long time! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Perfect Pancakes from Vegan Brunch by Isa Chandra Moskowitz | VegCookBook Club

Leave a Reply

