Gardein Holiday Roast

Hello, Happy Saturday–

I saw last week that a few people were visiting my blog because I had written about the Gardein Holiday Roast last year. I was excited to find it in 2012, because it was a newer product and we don’t always get those items here in Ohio. Thank you Whole Foods! I didn’t write much last year about how it turned out except for the last paragraph in this post, which didn’t say much. Sorry that I didn’t get any pictures, but here is the box.

Gardein roast pic2

I thought I’d tell you what I recall, in case you are thinking of buying it this year. I definitely recommend it for a vegan and, of course, a vegetarian Thanksgiving option. I recall it being very enjoyable and easy to make (bake for an hour). I’ve got another one in the freezer for this year. Last year I brought it to my family’s Thanksgiving for anyone who wanted to try it. Everyone who wanted to taste it was surprised to like it as much as they did, it seemed. I was bracing for a negative comment or two and did not get any. I would have eaten more, but wanted to share to anyone who wanted some…I thought the gravy was an essential part to tie it together and bring that creamy, moist mouth-feel to the dish. I added lots of extra cranberry sauce because that is truthfully my favorite part of Thanksgiving.

This year I also bought a Tofurky Vegetarian Roast I found on another trip to Whole Foods. Two vegan options for my two Thanksgiving meals this year. I guess this one has been around a while. I decided to make my own gravy for it, the Silky Chickpea gravy from Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra Moskowitz (sorry, recipe is not on her blog). I’ve read good things about it. I will try to remember to write it up and take pictures.

I love that when I went to Google images to find an image of this there was a pic of Paul McCartney in a pro-veg T-shirt! Paul is the greatest…

Happy Thanksgiving to all!

4 thoughts on “Gardein Holiday Roast

  1. I’m intrigued to hear how you liked the Tofurky as compared to Gardein’s roast. I did a Tofurky for Thanksgiving for the Fella and I last year. He seemed to enjoy it, though he politely declined my offer to make it again this year, so we were thankful over his mum’s vegan lasagna instead. A friend and I bought the whole Tofurky feast the year before, complete with chocolate cake and Wishstix. The Wishstix were like an unholy jerky, but we enjoyed the rest!

    • I will report back after the feasts. I never heard of the wishstix-sounds intriguing but I’m taking your word on it. Are you in Canada? So interesting how different Thanksgiving celebrations are timed. Lasagna sounds wonderful too. I always give thanks for it 🙂

  2. I haven’t tried that Gardein Holiday Roast yet; although, I have tried their stuffed turk’y cutlets, which I imagine would be similar. Gardein makes some really terrific products. I’m not surprised that even your non-vegetarian family members were into it! My favorite products of theirs are their beefless burgers and vegan breaded “chicken” strips.

    I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Leave a comment