Trust Yourself Cauliflower

This came out really well-trust me. I went out on a limb over the weekend and only loosely (gasp) followed a recipe. I didn’t even measure everything exactly. And this has been, by far, my best roasted cauliflower. It’s based on this recipe, which I had followed closely in the past and found to be tasty and satisfying, but too oily for me.

best cauliflower

Here’s what I did:

Roasted Cauliflower

Serves 4 as a side dish. But just try to be that restrained!

  • small head of cauliflower, cut into very small pieces (see photo), slightly damp.
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp fine grain sea salt
  • about 1/8 tsp onion powder
  • coarsely ground pepper according to your taste

(Note: all seasonings should be adjusted to your tastes-trust yourself! You may need to increase amounts of all ingredients if you have a large head of cauliflower)

Directions: In bowl, mix olive oil, garlic, sea salt, onion powder, pepper, and any other seasonings you desire. Add in the cauliflower and toss. Taste a few pieces to determine if you want to add anything else. Add a bit more oil if needed; I like it best when there is a light layer of oil over most of the pieces, but they are not drenched.

Spread cauliflower out in 9X13 inch Pyrex glass baking dish or similar pan. I have had better results in this dish vs. my rimmed baking sheet. Bake at 425 degrees for 30-35 minutes or when lightly browned. Stir after 20 minutes and as desired to ensure even browning. I stirred twice at 20 and 30 minutes, and took mine out at 35 minutes. Watch it carefully for that perfect amount of brown and a bit of near-burn on a few tips.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Trust Yourself Cauliflower

  1. So simple and yet so elegant. I make just about all my veggies like this, some olive oil and the oven. Last night I steamed broccoli instead of baking because I was short on time and, I’m sorry to say, steamed vegetables are just so bland! Keep bringing on the veggies!

  2. I am sure you have some good spice combinations! The recipe I first started cooking cauliflower with had fresh rosemary, and it was terrific. I just wanted to find a quicker method that tasted good. I was happy to find I could cut the oil down too 🙂

  3. I am so excited about “the new kale”…because I have at least partially mastered cooking it!!! I’d really love to hear more about your class…it would be a dream of mine to take a vegetarian or vegan cooking class.

Leave a comment